Something Great

Arsene Wenger cobbled together starting lineups with spit and duct tape and Denilson and somehow the team dragged its ass over the finish line in third or fourth.

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Samir of Nasri

It's a good thing that Raymond Domenech is the worst judge of talent since Al Davis because otherwise I'd be very worried in 93 days when Uruguay plays France. I would be worried because Samir Of Nasri absolutely embarrassed two Uruguayans to put Arsenal up 3-nil yesterday in what was a sensational and mesmerizing display of hips. Luckily, Domenech barely plays the French phenom.

If you didn't know, and shame on you, Porto is the unofficial Uruguayan National Club team with 3, count it, 3 Uruguayans, all of them starters. They are: Jorge Fucile, Alvaro Perreira and Cristian Rodriguez. Fucile is the one that people say looks like me, and I don't mind that because he's a very handsome dude. Cristian Rodriguez is the Onion (la cebolla) and Pereira apparently goes by Alvaro on his jersey for reasons I can't explain. Two of them are pictured on the future Nasri poster titled, "Samir of Nasri rudely shows Uruguay how to finish a scoring chance."

While we're here, the other relevant Uruguayans (and soon to become more relevant once we make the semi's in the World Cup) are:
Diego Forlan - Atletico Madrid
Luis Suarez - Ajax and apparently not for long as Chelsea (booo!) are taking a look at him
Martin Caceres - Juventus
Carlos Bueno - Penarol on loan to Real Sociedad - the founder and creative force behind this very website. You really need to click on that video if you didn't - it's quite possibly the worst quality of video ever but the highlights are accompanied by the fantastic song that is always at the ready whenever Uruguay scores. The radio blasts it mid-game, the local broadcast has been known to blast it mid-game and it's the song played at the bars whenever the highlights come on the TV later that night and prompts everyone to riot.

Anyway, the Arsenal look great and here's to hoping that Lyon, AC Milan and Inter Milan all win!